Empty Basket
Your cart is empty
VAT: $0.00
Total: $0.00
Voucher Code
Total: $0.00

WWC 2015 Final: Match Review

This years final was a repeat of the 2011 final in the team that took part only. As the outcome was very different and one many were not expecting. When the USA won 5-2 to earn the title of World Champions.

The World Cup Final took place last night (US time) between the current holders Japan and the No 2 ranked side USA.

The USA and Japan both used different tactics in the run-up to the game and conceded very few goals. So no one expected what was to come...

As Carli Lloyd scored from a corner after running in from outside the box, to start the campaign. A free kick set her up for her second as she was unmarked and able to score a tap in to send the match to 2-0 inside the first five minutes. Lauren Holiday then scored the third goal in the 14th minute, with a well-executed finish. 

Before Japan could blink the USA had scored another just a minute later. When Lloyd scored an absolutely stunning strike taken from just over the halfway line sending her to her hat trick and the USA to 4-0 up inside 16th minute, which is unheard of in finals, and all the more special against the previous winner Japan.

However, Japan were determined to go to keep fighting as Ogimi was able to turn and score in the box, to get one back. So the first half ended 4-1.

The second half began much as the first half ended, with USA gaining the majority of chances. But Japan were gifted a goal, in the 52nd minute when Julie Johnston scored an own goal sending the result to 4-2. 

Just as Japan thought the comeback was on, Tobin Heath had other ideas after scoring a composed finish inside the box to send the score line to 5-2. Virtually putting the Cup beyond Japan's reach. Despite some late chances from both sides. It was the USA who deservedly won the tournament with the final score at 5-2.

Carli Lloyd played a fantastic final and was awarded the Golden Ball for her performances throughout the tournament, while USA keeper Hope Solo, who also had a fantastic final, was awarded the Golden Glove for the fewest goals conceded.

Many praised the USA's desire and composure throughout the tournament which shone through in their final match. And so they are now World Cup Champions! 

Share this Article
Cookies on our website:
By clicking "I'm OK with cookies", you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to deliver and maintain our website core services, analyze site usage and assist in our marketing efforts, including advertising personalisation. Choose "Cookie Settings" to pick specific cookies you're okay with or to change your preferences.
I'm OK With Cookies Cookie Settings ?